A bit about me

Meet The Staffordshire Celebrant

My name is Matt, I’m 56 years old. I live in Rugeley Staffordshire, with my wife Lynn and Son Jack.

Celebrancy is a big change for me. I have worked all my life in the Electronics industry as an Engineer.

During my career I have been a team leader and a technical trainer.

This is where I found I loved working with people.

I have a happy go lucky personality and I’m told, great sense of humour, which has served me well over the years.

As well as the people skills I learned in my previous rolls, I have a natural ability to get on well with everybody. However, I have been given a different set of difficulties in my life than most, as I was born with a condition known as Spina Bifida. But luckily for me, my parents were not ones to treat me in any special way and having had two brothers, I soon learned to get on with life never considering myself as disabled in any way.

I use crutches to walk, but apart from that I am no different to anyone else.

As a child, I attended regular schools and had an ability to keep up with the best of them.

Again, thanks to my Father’s get on with it attitude towards me I have managed a full employment record all my working life.

My personality has helped me get over any barriers that people might have put up and once people meet me they see the person not the crutches!

I have been bought up to have an “I can and I will” kind of attitude.

I prefer to focus on my strengths, rather than my weaknesses.

That’s not to say I’m arrogant or big headed, but

I have great tenacity and don’t believe in giving up easily and if you choose me as your celebrant, you will see exactly that.

At Home

When I’m not working, I like to relax.

We have two dogs, Warwick and Luna.

Luna is a Lhasa Apso. She is a very special little dog, who came to us from Many Tears Rescue Centre.

She has some issues with her nerves’ bought on by a very bad start in life, which makes her decide to bark at other dogs, whenever we’re  out walking with her and Warwick, but she has the sweetest nature and soon comes round, once introduced.

Warwick is a Shi Tzu who got his name, because when he was a puppy he looked like an Ewok from Star Wars,

Warwick Davis played an Ewok and our family name is Davis, so it sort of fitted really.

The dogs keep us busy and our son is mad about football, so when we’re not busy with the dogs, we’re quite often, going to football training and matches with our son.

I also like going out to the theatre, concerts or the pub, sometimes both! When I’m not doing any of the above I like to watch TV or listen to music, usually loud Classic Rock!